Things You Should Know About New York Car Insurance

If you live in New York and you plan on driving your car anywhere in this state you must have insurance on your vehicle. The law requires you to carry a specific amount of liability insurance to cover any injuries to other people as well as damage to their vehicle. The minimum amounts for the liabilities are:

  • $25,000 to cover the bodily injury to one person who was involved in the accident
  • $50,000 must be held to cover the injuries of all people involved
  • $10,000 in liability coverage is to pay for damages to a person’s property

You must also carry no-fault insurance which means that it doesn’t matter who is at fault in an accident, each person contacts his or her own insurance for coverage of their claims.

When you drive in New York car insurance companies can only increase your rates if you were the cause of the accident and if resulted in property damage or bodily injury damages that totaled more than $2,000.

If you do not carry car insurance on your auto it is against the law. If you are unable to provide proof of insurance to a law enforcement agent you might have to pay fines of $150 to $1500 and run the risk of having your car impounded and your registration suspended. Even though it is the law that you must carry enough insurance to cover your share of damages in case an accident occurs you may have to pay a fine and your car may be impounded.

If you have an accident that is being held against your insurance it will be on it for three full years. On January 1st of the fourth year it will be removed from your insurance.

One thing you must never do on purpose is show a lapse in your New York car insurance coverage from https://insurancequote.deals/new-york-auto-insurance-quotes. If you don’t keep your insurance intact without any periods of time where you have no coverage you will have trouble getting new insurance.  There is no grace period; make sure your insurance premium is paid before it is due to avoid any problems.

If you have any points on your New York driver’s license they will remain on your record for a total of 18 months. They count from the day of the violation and not the day you were convicted.
You have to be at least 16 years of age to get a registration and title for your car in New York.